A Bowen Island Christmas

CHRISTMAS EVE

This year for Christmas, my family and I decided to spend a few days on Bowen Island, BC. It had been almost ten years since I had visited Bowen and I was itching to get back. Years ago, our family friends took us to Snug Cove, Bowen Island on their boat and I have fond memories of exploring the island with one of my dearest friends, Brittney. I had never been there in the winter but I was dreaming of a forest wonderland perfect for the holidays. And I got all that and more.

First, as per our Christmas Eve tradition, we had lunch at The Boathouse restaurant at Horseshoe Bay where I had a FANTASTIC salmon burger.

Next, we boarded the Queen of Capilano ferry and embarked on our “lengthy” 20 minute journey. Basically, we got on the ferry, had some hot chocolate, took a few photos from the bow, then got back in our truck and then arrived on the island.

IMG_5825

Snug Cove is one of the most idyllic places in BC and I could feel my excitement growing as we made our way in.

I was really looking forward to seeing our little cottage! It was built in the 1920s by the Union Steamship Company and had been restored to its’ original state. If you want more information about the cottage we stayed in, you can check out their site here.  

We couldn’t have Christmas without a Christmas tree! This “little” cedar was cut down in our own backyard by my Bro-In-Law, Spencer, and it came with us to the island. Of course I first had to inspect it for squirrels. (National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is a classic.)

My mom told each of my sisters and I to bring our five favourite ornaments from home to decorate the tree with. Tori, my sister, and I did our best to make our tree magical.

Naturally, a starfish for the top of our tree was only appropriate as this was an Island Christmas tree.  We also picked up some fairy lights from the Union Steamship Marina shop to add some sparkle to our tree.

All the prezzies wrapped with care.

Dad surveying the beauty that is our tree.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We settled into our Christmas pjs and watched “Home Alone 2” because that, too, is a classic.

We used the trimmings from our tree for some added decoration and I made this with a little ribbon we brought from home.

The woodpile which was visited often by us as we had a fire constantly going in the cottage. It made everyone extremely sleepy and cozy.

We went to bed fairly early (because Santa needed to have lots of time to prepare).

CHRISTMAS DAY

My sister, Amy, and brother-in-law, Spencer, came early on Christmas morning and we opened up our stockings and gifts and soon there was wrapping paper carnage everywhere.

After we had a delicious breakfast of pancakes, sausages, and eggs, we threw on some clothes and headed out to Tunstall Bay.

On our last visit here, I have a vivid memory of reading my book on this beach while listening to Nelly Furtado’s “Loose” album. That album was my everything that summer.

It was VERY cold but so beautiful. The smell in the air was incredible and this Valley Girl was soaking up every second.

  

  

  

Photos taken by my darling Tori. 

I recently got some new Sorel snow boots and I decided they needed their first day out on the beach. They kept my feet so warm and snuggly even when I fell into the water while crossing on a log. I am a delicate flower.

I whipped out the selfie stick and snapped a family Oscar-Style selfie. Aren’t we a cute bunch?

  

  
The Hackett/Koop kids looking FOINE.

That moment when I realize that my selfie stick was hitting the side button which then made it take a 56 photo photo-burst.

This picturesque place is KILLARNEY Lake. Yes. That’s right. We had Christmas in Killarney. BING CROSBY FTW.

It was stunning.

I like my new boots. What can I say?

We arrived back at the cottage and found it smelling of Turkey. Heaven.

We put a few tables together and made room for all of us to sit down and enjoy the turkey dinner made by Mom.

We even brought this leftover pumpkin pie I made back at Thanksgiving which was perfect for the occasion.

(Excuse me as I go grab another piece of this.)

(I’m back.)

We all needed to walk off our feast so we ventured out into the crisp, winter air and walked along the marina docks.

It was so cold I could see my breath but of course this couldn’t translate properly into a photo so instead I look like an insane person. Which I am.


We got back and played a few rounds of our favourite game, Dutch Blitz! If you are competitive and like coming up with creative smack-talk, this is the game for you. I won the most points and it was a Christmas miracle.

I decided to relax with one of my presents, “Girl Online: On Tour” by Zoe Sugg (Zoella for all you YouTube lovers like me out there) as well as a  “Mmelting Marshmallow Moment” bar from Lush and it was the perfect end to a perfect day.

BOXING DAY

I wanted to visit the marina docks in the daylight so after packing up the cottage, I made my way down to explore.

My Dad and I will always bond over our love of boats. I love everything about being on the water. There were some beautiful boats out there.

While I was out there, it started to snow. Not big, fat flakes but soft, baby flakes. So perfect. Then I regretted not bringing my coat. And my scarf. And my gloves.

WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT?!

I was feeling very #PNW in this moment with one of my favourite sweaters from Province of Canada which I got from Montrose & George in Abbotsford. Also, the plaid, Blundstones and Pyrrha necklace screams “British Columbian”.

Because selfie.

I love my Blundies.

  

By Tori. 

We said goodbye to our sweet little cottage and joined the ferry lineup.

There were HUNDREDS of these birds floating casually in the water and it was rather hysterical watching them fly away in a panic as the ferry headed straight towards them.

Plus, I promise there are mountains behind those clouds and they are stunning.

We got home and the first thing I did was throw on my new jammies and settle into my own bed with “Why Not Me” by Mindy Kaling. I know I shouldn’t start more than one book at the same time but I couldn’t help myself.

I love home but I really loved being on that little island. I am so blessed to have such an amazing family with which to share these memories.

What was your favourite part about your Christmas this year?

Cheers,

Connie

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: BUCKET LIST 2016 |

Leave a Reply

