Boo! 

Halloween is one of my favourite holidays for the obvious reason: I LOVE DRESSING UP. I find most of my costumes are last minute but they end up being so much fun to parade around in. If you need some inspiration, here are some of my costumes from the last few years! 

  
Zooey Deschanel from “New Girl” 

I didn’t actually have bangs so I used a few (dozen) bobby pins and tucked my hair up. Throw on a cute dress with a cardi and you’re good to go! 

  
Lumber Jane 

Got a plaid shirt and boots? Perfect! Just hit up Walmart and pick up some suspenders and wooly socks. Instant lumber-babe. 

  
Artist Albrecht Durer 

I saw this portrait in one of my Art History classes in university and I thought “hey! I have a fur collared coat! I could do that!” and oh, I did. I threw on my coat and added a little more “faux fur” to my face and voila! A masterpiece. 

  
Ballerina 

If you have to work on Halloween but still want to dress up, this is for you. I found a tutu from Halloween Alley and bought some pink ribbon from the local fabric store and instantly I felt like pirouetting. 

  Home Depot Mermaid 

Another option if you are limited in style choices for a work costume. Seeing as I had to work at Home Depot last Halloween I decided to put my own spin on it. See if your work will let you test your creative juices and make something new! Although my seashells were a tad bit lopsided I was still pleased with my look.   

 
Jewellery Thief 

I wanted a costume that wasn’t in your face and subtle. This one was perfect! Wear all black and throw every necklace you own on. Bam. You’re a jewellery thief. You are welcome to steal this look! *badum-ting!* 

  
Frida Kahlo 

I love all things art history and I couldn’t pass up the chance to rock a unibrow and a flower crown. FRIDA. I found a floral shirt, whipped out my flower crown and pencilled in a gnarly brow *singular*. Considering doing this look on a regular basis. 

I’m really looking forward to my last-minute costume this year! You’ll just have to wait to see 😉 

What are you dressing up as this year? 

Cheers, Connie 

Leave a Reply

